Student Activities Program


From left to right: Dr. Marc Sherwin (Northrop Grumman), speaker; student co-chairs Charlie Sanabria (FSU) and Meysam Heyday Gharahcheshmeh (TcSUH/University of Houston); and speakers Prof. Mike Sumption (Ohio State University), and Dr. Lucio Rossi (CERN)

-> Click here for recruitment opportunities during ASC 2016! <-

Several special activities are being planned for student participants, and additional information will be posted as it becomes available.

Unless otherwise noted, the listings below will take place at the Colorado Convention Center.

Student Information Desk

Sunday – 3:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. Lower A Lobby 
Monday – Thursday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Lower A Lobby

A student information desk will be manned to answer questions, provide the latest information on student events, accept resumes for posting, etc. Please stop by during the week if you need assistance.



Monday – 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Rooms 102/104/106; 103/105; 107/109
Student Paper Contest Oral Session

Finalists in the Student Paper Contest will present their research in this important session, and winners will be presented with monetary awards following the final plenary talk on Friday. The extended abstracts from Large Scale, Materials, and Electronics are being evaluated by three panels of judges who are experts in the respective areas, and up to six submissions will be selected as finalists in each category. Finalists will make 15-minute oral presentations, with five minutes to answer questions from the panel and the audience. Judges will evaluate each finalist using (a) the submitted extended abstract, (b) the oral presentation at the Student Competition session, and (c) answers to questions following the oral presentations. Up to three prizes will be awarded in each category. The first, second, and the third prizes in each of the three categories will include a $750, $500, and $250 cash award respectively from the IEEE Council on Superconductivity and an inscribed certificate. In addition, special $500 memorial awards were established: Alexander Shikov award for best paper in the “LTS and HTS Conductors” category, sponsored by JSC “TVEL” and A. A. Bochvar High – Technology Research Institute of Inorganic Materials (JSC VNIINM), and two Victor Keilin awards for innovations in magnet science and technology, and for development of superconducting materials for large-scale applications, sponsored by Friends of Victor Keilin.


Wednesday – 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Room 102/104/106
Student Career Lunch Session – for students and young professionals

Reservations are required to attend this special lunch session to dialog with leading senior scientists and industry leaders on career opportunities in the areas of electronics, materials and large scale applications. Speakers are being selected by a student committee, and additional mentors will be in attendance to answer career questions. Box lunches will be provided to all who register. 


Wednesday – 7:30 p.m. Meet in the Lobby of the Hyatt Regency
Pubs & Microbreweries – Denver Style

Put on your comfortable shoes and join ASC hosts to experience the local microbrewery scene on this walking tour. Your hosts will provide the first beverages to get the party started.  Participants will meet in the lobby of the Hyatt Regency at 7:30 p.m. Registration is required in advance. Sign up at the Student Information Desk by Wednesday morning to receive your pass.


Thursday – 11:50 a.m. – 1:10 p.m. Room 302/303
ASC/CWsWiSE Diversity in Science and Engineering Luncheon

We invite you to  hear our guest speaker, Dr. Laura H. Greene, who is a Francis Eppes Professor of Physics at Florida State University, the Chief Scientist at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and the Incoming President of the American Physical Society (2017). She will share her pathway through superconductivity to become a scientific leader. In her talk, “And, I am a Materials Girl…”, Dr. Greene will explain how broadening our diversity in science, both in people and in subjects, enhances our resources for exploration and discovery in fundamental physics, while also telling about her journey through the wonderfully “seductive and consuming” field of superconductivity where being a physicist is an integral part of what defines her.


Friday – 12:00 p.m.   Four Seasons Ballroom 1-3
Awards Presentations

Winners of the Student Paper Contest will be recognized following the final plenary talk on Friday.


Other Activities and Resources (Available to All Conference Participants)

Sunday – 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Hyatt Regency Centennial Ballroom
Opening Reception: Welcome to Denver!
Tuesday – 6:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.  Exhibit Hall
Exhibitor Reception
Thursday – 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Four Seasons Ballroom
ASC Banquet: Celebrating 50 Years
Sunday Thursday Lower A Lobby
Jobs Posting/Resume Boards  

Students and young professionals are encouraged to post their resumes throughout the conference. The Student Information Desk can assist as needed to help students connect with prospective employers.


The IEEE Council on Superconductivity’s IEEE Young Professionals Affinity Group

IEEE Young Professionals is an international community of enthusiastic, dynamic, and innovative members and volunteers. As an affiliated member of the Council on Superconductivity’s IEEE Young Professionals, members have access to numerous benefits geared toward the following: Continuing education, career resources & recognition, access to technically current publications, and numerous opportunities to build personal professional network.