Applied Superconductivity Conference Best Student Paper Contest

The ASC 2016 Best Student Paper Prize Winners are as follows:

Electronics Large Scale Materials
1st Prize: Shirin Montazeeri 1st Prize: Peng Chen 1st Prize: Charlie Sanabria and Christopher Segal
2nd Prize: Ethan Cho 2nd Prize: Peter Cheetham 3rd Prize: Mayaluna Lao
3rd Prize: Haruka Muramatsu 3rd Prize: Lei Wang
Alexander Shikov Prize Winner: Meysam Heydari Gharahcheshmeh
Victor Keilin Memorial Prize (Materials): Christoper Segal and Charlie Sanabria
Victor Keilin Memorial Prize (Large Scale): Peter Cheetham


The Organizing Committee is arranging the Applied Superconductivity Conference Best Student Paper Contest again in 2016.

In addition to the regular abstract, eligible contestants are required to submit a 2-page extended abstract for review by the Contest Committee who will select finalists. Finalists will then be asked to present in a Student Paper Contest Oral Session. Winners will be presented with a monetary award.

Qualifications & Eligibility

  • For the purpose of the entering the ASC contest, a student is considered to be an individual who has been a full-time student of an accredited college or university during the time the work was performed.

    Example: students in the United States college must be enrolled for a minimum of nine (9) credit hours per term as a graduate student or twelve (12) credit hours per term as an undergraduate.

  • There is no age limit.
  • Ph.D. students are eligible.
  • Post-doctoral researchers are not considered students and are not eligible.
  • A letter will be required from the student’s primary advisor indicating that the work presented in the paper was done primarily by the student contestant and performed while he/she was a student. This letter should also state that the contributions by other co-authors are secondary.
  • The submitting student must be the first author.
  • The submitting student must be the presenter at the designated session.
  • Multiple submissions are accepted.

Interested students are asked to proceed as follows:

  • Prepare your 2-page Extended Abstract as instructed in the Extended Abstract Template.
  • Obtain a letter from your primary advisor.
  • Submit your abstract to the ASC’16 abstract submission site by the submission deadline (2 February 2016). During abstract submission, indicate that you wish to participate in the Student Paper Contest.
  • Submit your 2-page Extended Abstract AND your advisor’s letter along with your abstract by 2 February 2016. Extended abstracts will NOT be accepted without your advisor’s letter.

Selection Process

The extended abstracts in each of the three areas (Large Scale, Materials, and Electronics) will be evaluated by three panels of judges who are experts in the respective areas.  It is expected that the evaluation process is completed by the end of May. Up to six submissions will be selected as finalists in each category.  The finalists will be required to make an oral presentation at a Student Competition session. Each finalist will be given 15 minutes for making his/her presentations and 5 minutes to answer questions from the panel and the audience. The panel of judges will evaluate each finalist using (a) the submitted extended abstract, (b) the oral presentation at the Student Competition session, and (c) answers to questions following the oral presentations.


Up to three prizes will be awarded in each category.  The first, second, and the third prizes in each of the three categories will include a $750, $500, and $250 cash award respectively from the IEEE Council on Superconductivity and an inscribed certificate. In addition, special $500 memorial awards were established: Alexander Shikov award for best paper in the “LTS and HTS Conductors” category, sponsored by JSC “TVEL” and A. A. Bochvar High – Technology Research Institute of Inorganic Materials (JSC VNIINM), and two Victor Keilin awards for innovations in magnet science and technology, and for development of superconducting materials for large-scale applications, sponsored by Friends of Victor Keilin. Awards will be presented after the plenary session on Friday, 9 September, 2016.

Student Competition Sessions

Day, date and time of the student competition session will be determined at a later date.

Date & Time: Monday, September 5, 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Location: Colorado Convention Center
Room 107/109 – Electronics (ends at 8:20 p.m.)
Room 102/104/106 – Large Scale
Room 103/105 – Materials

For the list of 2016 contestants, please open the ASC’16 Itinerary Planner and select the Student Competition sessions on Monday, September 5.


The ASC 2014 Best Student Paper Prize Winners are as follows:

Electronics Large Scale Materials
1st Prize: Riccardo Arpaia
2nd Prize:
Mohd Mawardi Saari
3rd Prize:
Nathan Gemmell
1st Prize: Emmanuele Ravaioli
2nd Prize: Charlie Sanabria
3rd Prize: Jiayin Ling
1st Prize: Christopher Segal
2nd Prize: Maxime Matras
3rd Prize: Golsa Naderi

Alexander Shikov Prize Winner: Maxime Matras